Module 2 – Digital Natives

0001-133840010
Image made with Canva

Being 23 years old, I believe I fit into an awkward category of technology user who is neither a digital native or a digital immigrant. While I remember my family getting our first computer (a large, white box with what seemed like a thousand cords), I have developed into what I would consider a competent technology user. Certainly, with a Bachelor of Arts (Photography)/Bachelor of Arts (Graphic Design) under my belt, most of my recent studies have involved a high level of digital technology use. However, I am still surprised by the amount of ‘digital native’ students, not much younger than myself, who are equally capable when it comes to technology.

My experience in the classroom to date suggests that while students are competent and confident in using technology, there is still a lot to be taught in terms of efficient, ethical and successful use of technology. I believe my background in digital art will be useful in implementing technology in the classroom.

One thing is for sure, ‘today’s students are no longer the people our educational system was designed to teach’ (Prensky, 2001, p. 1). 

References

Prensky, M. (2001) Digital Natives, Digital Immigrants Part 1, On the Horizon, Vol. 9 Iss: 5, pp.1 – 6

Module 2 – Digital Natives

Leave a Reply

